Best Hunting GPS app

northface

With my smartphone and Goal Zero setup I'm looking to lighten my load even more. Does anyone have a favorite gps app? Preferably one that allows functionality when not connected to data because I'm backcountry hunting primarily.

Backcountry Navigator-Android not iPhone. works great. I have been using it on my back country hunts for a couple years and it has saved my butt. You download the map of the area where you will be to your phone, put the phone in airplane mode and turn the GPS on. All the features of a GPS for a lot cheaper. (If you already have a smart phone.) You can download hunt area map overlays for several states as well as private, blm, forest overlays.

[font face="verdana" color="green"] Jake

Rambo-

Does that app not work on the iPhone or have you just not tried it? I am looking for something similar that works with my iPhone 6. Thanks.

Hawkeye

>Rambo-
>
>Does that app not work on
>the iPhone or have you
>just not tried it?
>I am looking for something
>similar that works with my
>iPhone 6. Thanks.
>
>Hawkeye

I have never owned Iphone. If it is available for
Iphones it may work great. I have only used it on Android and it has been a great tool.

[font face="verdana" color="green"] Jake

+1 for Backcountry Navigator Pro! Does everything you would need it to. Last I checked it was not available for iOS.

2a0fcsk.gif

Thanks for the tips.

Don't want to ditch a GPS just yet. With the high def screens smart phones have it makes maps easier to see and pick out more details. Weighing options really.

LAST EDITED ON Mar-05-15 AT 09:13AM (MST)[p]

This is from their website:

"With BackCountry Navigator, your Android phone becomes a complete outdoor topo mapping GPS device. It works without network coverage or data connection. A user only need to pre-download their topo map and it can be viewed offline in the forest and wilderness areas where there is no network connection."