field judging moose

why

field judging moose

does any one know of good website for field judging moose cousin drew summit tag he is avid deer elk hunter. luck out with 4 points i will not be able to go with first week of hunt i will in b.c. elk huntig he said .any pictures or tips would be helpful thanks. guys seen tips on elk forum hoping someone has somthing thanks agin.

RE: field judging moose

I'm no expert but I took a beautiful Shiras in WY a few years back and by far the biggest thing to look for in a bull is wide paddles. My bull was only 40" wide but made B&C because he had nice heavy and wide paddles.Also remember the number of points counts but not the length.

Watch alot of moose videos to get used to seeing them. Big mature moose just have a "look" to them.They are actually not hard to judge for this reason.

Good luck!

The biggest thing is having at leat two browtines on each antler. A single browtine will cost you on palm length. Long paddles add up the score in a hurry.

Then look for palm width, spread & then points.

Check out a B&C score sheet & look at as many shiras mounts as you can.

These guys have it right. Look for a bull with at least two points on the brow palms, and well-developed top palms. Palm length in the mid-to-high 30's here is ideal. Look for palm widths in the 12-15" range. Look for a bull with lots of points, but not too many long points as this tends to take away from the width of the palm. Also, points only count if their length is longer than the width at the base. Using the above numbers, a modest spread of 40", say 8 points per side, your looking about around 160", which is above the minimum for B&C. As far as field judging goes, figure around 20" from the base of the antler to the end of the snout on a shiras bull, and around 6-7" in between the antlers on the forehead. These numbers are variable, but might give you some idea in the field.