I am NOT Jim Zumbo

R

ramshorn

And I am not a resident of Arizona. I am a resident of a western state in the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. And IMHO, any state that severely discrimates in favor of its residents against non-residents, for any public use opportunities to be found on FEDERAL land, deserves to have its rules found unconstitutional.

Contrary to what is often stated on this site, the state of Arizona does not OWN the wildlife found on federal land. The wildlife on federal land is owned by the people of the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, period. The federal government has delegated to the states the authority to manage the wildlife found on federal land (thank God), but this delegation of authority, which can be removed, is expressly for the purpose of providing for the betterment of the wildlife. No resident of Arizona has ever adequately explained how or why it is to the betterment of wildlife on federal land to be hunted by a resident of Arizona as opposed to a resident of the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. Doesn't the wildlife that resides on federal land deserve the support, financial and otherwise, of all of the people of the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

Much also has been said about the GREED of USO. Again, IMHO, the true accusation of greed should be pointed towards the Arizona Game and Fish Department for bullheadedly holding to a program that is so severely discriminatory against non-residents that it has required the intervention of a federal judge. Many of my friends in Arizona have in the past expressed concern that a program that soaks non-residents for 60% of the license fees, while providing only 6% to 8% of the licenses to non-residents, for hunting taking place on federal land, was destined to be overturned in a lawsuit. You reep what you sow.