ksl on deer

cantkillathing

Very Active Member

How come when they say deer herd is down that its up? An oxymoron, is it hard to say that the deer herd sucks. I have attended so many frustrating meeting with the DWR that I dont go anymore, they are the only people that can say the deer herd is struggling and in same sentence say that its in good condition. Which is it?

Tag cuts will never help unless the cuts are so extreme. I hope that Legislation continues to put pressure on where the heck are the deer numbers that you are throwing out there.

I have a master's degree natural resource management and wildlife biology. And, I know two things for certain.

1) If you want to grow the deer herd you put all your chips on protecting the does and fawns.
2) Bucks never have, and never will, give birth to a fawn.

The entire conversation needs to be about does and fawns, not bucks.

I have a master's degree natural resource management and wildlife biology. And, I know two things for certain.

1) If you want to grow the deer herd you put all your chips on protecting the does and fawns.

When I was younger and loved to go shed hunting before it go so popular I would find dead heads all the time from lion kills, when the buck population have dropped you dont nearly find the dead heads like you use to, Lion population didn't go down, they still ate, but seems like they are eating more fawns and does now then when there was a surplus of bucks, no biology or degree on this, just field observation over the years.

I think there should be 2 focuses for every group working to help herds- 1 protecting habitat, not just planting bushes, but preventing actual habitat loss. (Likely to be said as hard and or impossible, which may be true unless people make it a priority). And 2 somehow doing more to limit losses on roadways. I think those are 2 factors that can actually be impacted by $$$. We can’t control the weather etc, but we can preserve land and create safer travel avenues.