Losing bonus points

J

jedisdead

Did the change in the bonus point system stay in effect. Where if you don't put in for a species in three years you lose your points, or did it change again. Because I real close on an elk tag but don't want to lose my deer points.

I'm pretty sure that as long as you put in for something you will keep your points. It's if you don't put in for anything for 3 years that you lose your points.

I believe its still in place. I haven't seen anything about it changing back.

4b1db2ac644136c4.jpg

it is still in place. If you have not put in for a specific species in the last 3 draws then you will lose your poiints for that species. if you have points for any species and you did not apply for that species in 2009 or 2010 then you have to put in for that species in 2011 or the points will be gone.

I don't think the information give above is correct and here's why I say that. I am a resident who is old enough that at one time I could apply for all species and they gave you a point if you did not draw. Then around 1996 or so they made a new ruling that you could only apply for one LE and one OIL time hunt. Since that time I have never applied for antelope or moose and yet I still carry my points to this day. I have applied for other species each year but never for those. So I know you don't lose your points if you don't apply for that certain species? as long as you apply for another. And I am not certain that is even a requirement.

Have a good one. BB

I believe this would be the first year to lose either deer or elk points from what I recall. I will call the dwr tomorrow and find out what they say.

you wont lose bonus points for elk if you put in for deer as long as you are putting in for something you will keep all your points but if you dont put in on anything for three years then you will lose your points

Don't want to hijack this thread, but can someone clarify another bonus point question?