Mule Deer General Advice

B

Bowdent

I am new to archery deer hunting and am looking to educate myself about how to hunt mule deer in the desert. I have done some scouting in a few areas I have in mind, but I could use some advice on the general types of terrain, approximate elevation, and types of habitat to scout for desert mule deer. I do not want any specifics, as finding them and scouting them myself is really more than half of the fun of hunting. Any general mule deer knowledge would be much appreciated. Thanks

In southern AZ units like 29, I have located most mule deer in the lower elevation. Look at the grassy, rolling hills. In some of the units west of 29, I find them in the flats. Harder to locate there, but tracking has worked for me in the past.

Finding a secluded water hole with alot of track can be very productive. If you find a water hole to hunt try and hunt it during the week and take the weekend off. I know of alot of bucks that have been killed around 10:30 am.

Thanks much for the advice, especially the part about not getting my feelings hurt. Ya kinda start to think the deer are just over the next ridge laughing at you because you can't find them. I found a place with water, and lots of cover. No tracks but lots of droppings that were several weeks old (I think). Is it worth hanging out to see if they come back? Again thanks for the input!

When it comes to hunting desert muleys my feelings stay hurt all of the time.

Madglasser and mesquitehunter are without a doubt 2 of the most knowledgeable guys around when it comes to hunting desert mule deer. I'd listen to them carefully. They know their business.

creed can also give some of the best advice I know of. Maybe hunter1, jason. eric, heat, fugitive and some others (sorry if I didn't put your name here, but you know who you guy's are!) will give you some of their advice. The learning is as big as the deer!
Travis
www.southwesthuntingadventures.com

Guys