Preference Point Help

ViperD

Hello,

Let me start by saying I am an avid young hunter (28 years old) from PA. I spend most of my time chasing whitetails in the fall and turkeys in the spring. I have been exploring my options and really would like to start looking into big game hunting in the Western part of the US. After hours of research, I have come to the conclusion that it can be pretty confusing! Being as I am young, I am looking for input as to what states I should start acquiring preference points in? I am more interested in states where just a preference point can be purchased. Being a young professional, I don't have a lot of income to be tied up in licenses and waiting on refunds, etc.

My primary interests are Moose and Elk hunting.

At my age, what would you consider good states to put in for preference points for non-resident Moose? I have been thinking about starting to purchase non-resident Moose preference points in Wyoming. Are there any other states I should consider?

Any states I should accumulate preference points for Elk?

Are there any once in a lifetime preference points I should start accumulating? I would really like to do a Big horn sheep hunt at least once at some point.

In the meantime I think I am going to start going on OTC elk hunts every few years, in CO most likely. Just to get some experience out west and get the feel for things in the big mountains.

Any input as to where I could start accumulating points for the long run would be greatly appreciated!

CO is the only state that has a growing Shiras population, every other state is holding steady or declining.
With that said you need to put your money up front for applying even if only for a point.
If you didn't care about bull/cow, you could draw a CO cow moose tag most likely way faster than a bull tag!

Mntman

"Hunting is where you prove yourself"

Put in for SE Idaho, and if you don't draw, then hunt your OTC elk here instead of Colorado.