Restraint

Smoey

So I've been lurking on this forum for awhile, but thought it was time that I should become an active poster. I moved to New Mexico 2 years ago with the intent of being closer to family and closer to elk hunting. I loved the deer hunting and crappie fishing in Missouri but IMHO nothing compares to archery elk hunting. Over the last 11 years I've only missed one archery elk season and that was because my wife had the brilliant idea to get married September 17th.... hopefully that was my last missed elk season:)

My problem( if you can call it that) is that I can't seem to keep from dropping the string on the first gimme shot I get on an average bull. Last year, my first as a resident I drew a high quality unit and as unbelievable luck would have it I drew the same first choice unit again this year ( 8% odds of that happening). I harvested a 280ish bull last year and as I was quartering and breaking down the bull I could hear 8-10 bulls bugling in the valley below me. This unit is known to produce much larger bulls but honestly I had no reservations about tagging this animal. Part of a complete elk hunt for me includes many variables that I can't exactly quantify but just know it when it happens . With whitetails I can hold out for specific animals but with elk I just don't have the restraint to pass up animals that trip my trigger in that exact moment.. I would love to kill a big bull but For me those 280-300ish bulls are still too hard to lay off. I've killed 7 elk with my bow and 3 with a rifle so it's not as if I'm still a complete greenhorn, I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this dilemma of wanting to kill a good bull but also being content with just filling your tag? How many years or bulls did it take for you to only be happy with a certain sized bull?