Riding saddles

nmbighorn

Who makes the best quality riding saddle? What should I look for in a quality riding saddle?
I have ridden before so I have some experience just never owned horses or mules.

Lots of good saddles out there and depends on what riding you’re going to do. I will assume hunting and mountain riding since this is hunting forum. I would Avoid roping type saddles with low cantles. Look for straight back 4-5 in. Association style trees are a happy medium. Look at Corriente saddles, they have lots of options. Best saddles for the money if your buying new

Lots of good saddles out there and depends on what riding you’re going to do. I will assume hunting and mountain riding since this is hunting forum. I would Avoid roping type saddles with low cantles. Look for straight back 4-5 in. Association style trees are a happy medium. Look at Corriente saddles, they have lots of options. Best saddles for the money if your buying new
I use nothing but the ranch and rope but I need the “Rope” side of it!

I like a ranch saddle. Get one that fits you and fits your horse.
Take a look at teskeys.com at new and used saddles they have a huge selection, many brands. I bought one there a few years ago ordered it Monday it was at the house Tuesday.
Saddles are like rifles and bows you can find them from $200 to $4000.
IMHO a Jeff Smith Saddle is one of the best saddles you can buy but they are pricey.
You could talk to an independent saddle maker and get one custom made.
I look at saddles as a long term investment.
If you buy a saddle that doesn’t fit the horse after a little while the hair around his withers will turn white where it is a bad fit.
Also, a good saddle pad like a 5 Star pad is to me, just as important as a good saddle.

My favorite is my Corriente ranch saddle. Have put lots of miles in it over lots of varied terrain. As was mentioned a good pad is essential. I use a good 1” wool felt pad. Protects my horses back very well.

IMG_0332.jpeg