Sheep Talk

DownThePipe

Well, it's time to apply for trophy species. I'm going to be throwing my name in for California bighorns for the first time- as I've basically given up on drawing an antelope tag to hunt with my rifle.

Anyway, even though I'm not putting in for the unit, I was wondering what people's perception is of unit 37 for Rocky Mountain sheep now that a few years have gone by with the increased tag numbers. Is it others perception that 37 really has the population to support those tags, or has it just become an opportunity hunt?

Anybody have any good stories from last year or know of a monster they are looking to put on the ground?

Is anybody else putting in for sheep this year? If so, let's hear the stories about how long you've been waiting (to pass the time...)

Here's me with another guy's sheep from 3 years ago...

37 is not for the light hearted and I've been putting in for 15 years and never have drawn. Not huge rams in there, and the wolves have left their mark on the unit.
I keep putting in for 37 because its close for me, but thats about it.

It is a restricted atv unit and no atv trails are in the unit.

If you draw and want to be aggressive in the hunt, you will need to set up camp in the back country. it is accessible by horse back or hiking.

Driving in everyday, hiking and hunting wont work well I dont think. I have seen guys hunting that just had to stay in their campers 5 miles out due to bad road conditions and drove every day.. It seemed like a huge waist of fuel and time.

Needless to say they weren't unsuccessful.

They dropped the sheep in many years ago and they seemed to be growing in population, but with heavy wolf activity in the unit, they have become scarce in a lot of areas. it is like they said, screw this, and left.

The tag is difficult to draw for sure.. i know first hand. if you do, good luck and have fun.