Shooting Long Distance

D

dds

Greetings All,

I know we must have some long shooters out there.

Prior to getting my Coues tag next year (probably dreaming), I am pondering the purchase of a new scope.

I am concerned with the change in the point of impact associated with the changing of power with a variable power scope. I understand that the best scopes out there, such as Leupold, Nikon, and Swarovski are suppossed to be relatively free of parallax error. However, I would like everyones input.

I am especially interested in knowing what people do when sighting in their Coues rifles. For example, I read that if you sight in using the highest power, when you turn your scope to a lower setting the error is minimal.

Thanks.

Darren

when i sight my coues rifle in i sight in at 6 or 7 because thats where i carry my simmons atec set at. i have never looked through one of the better scopes but i am very satisifed with my rifle.
casey

Darren: I am no expert on this but hopefully I have a few suggestions that may help. First, dont make the mistake I did if you buy the Swarovski scope, make sure you get the TDS reticle system that has the extra lines in it for long distance shots. I am upgrading my scope and it is costing an additional 250.00 to put the system in. If you buy leupold, there is a great reticle system called Premium Reticle or something like that where they have the lines and red dots on the various yardages.......Allen Taylor......

I shoot a Leupold 3X9X40 and it is sighted in on 9X. I set bullet impact for 1" at 100 yards. For every Coues killed at 400+ yards there are 20 killed at less than that. I've seen some long range shooting and even done some myself but very seldom have I seen long range killing. I can't pull off 400+ yard shots even with shooting sticks, custom guns and quality optics.