Software for GPS

MDWhitetail

I just bought a Garmin 60CSx GPS and I am looking for some good Topo software to load onto it. Anyone out there knows of some good software that is compatible and woks well with that unit.

Anyone have any actual experience with huntinggpsmaps? they look nice, but can't find a ton on the internet of actual experience other than it looks like some of the owners/developers pimping it.

They sound great, but do they work well with Garmin? A little spendy for just one state.

the only place I have used them is in the store. One of our sportsmans warehouses has them and the guy put the chip in the oregon 450t and I played around with it there. It worked with out any problems, other than that I have no experiences with them. If I decide to buy the garmin gps I will deffinantly buy the huntinggpsmaps to go with it.

Is the sofware the same for the Garmin 530 HCX too.
I'm just now get mine ready to learning to use it right. We use 2 of them last year for a hunt and they worked great so now I have brought on and we need to get a few other things to go with it. I like the idea of downloading maps for the area we hunt.

"I have found if you go the extra mile it's Never crowded".

The huntinggpsmaps look really nice, but I don't have any experience with them. The free maps on gpsfiledepot will undoubtably be all I'll ever need. The terrain shading is not supported on the GPSmap 60Csx, and I don't think any of the Rino units support it either.

Any of the units with a 2GB+ micro SD card will hold a bunch of these maps. I have both topo and land ownership for CO, WY, MT, ID, AZ, and SD on my unit with room to spare. You might consider downloading the free maps from GPS file depot and playing with them. Most of the land ownership maps can be made transparent and overlayed on the topo maps. If you aren't satisfied, give the huntinggpsmaps a try. Either way, don't wait until you're in the backcountry to learn how to use the maps.