Trespass Fee or Draw Units

TheBoneCollector

I am a non resident and have 10 points for deer,elk and antelope. I want to take my 10 yr old son on my points(mentor hunt). Do any of you guys know someone who would be willing to let a youth hunt their property for a trepass fee. Looking for something reasonable. I'm not looking for B/C animals, just want him to have a good chance at a bull or a decent buck. I talked to several biologist and all of them did not reccomend applying in their area due to deer numbers. I'm open for suggestions on units I can draw as well. Thanks in advance for your help. I have hunted elk & deer in many states and will give you any info on those areas.

BC

To be honest our deer hunting sucks, but with your points you can draw a tag in the next year or two that would give you a decent hunt. you're probably a few years from a good goat tag but you can draw lots og good elk hunts with 10 NR points as long as you're not looking for book class bulls.

A trespass fee is going to be a little hard to do, most ranches anymore are owned by people who bought them for hunting, have enough money they don't want to be bothered or they've leased the hunting out. of the few places like you're talking about I know of they're over hunted to the point you may as well hunt the public.

You can get some good advice here but you need to be specific on the quality of animal and type of hunt you're looking for, and what kind of country because we have it all. what do you mean by decent? a decent deer or elk in Oregon ranges from a legal animal to average, if you're thinking 3 point or better deer and raghorn bull you're our kind of trophy hunter. anything much more is unrealistic for the most part, sure big animals are taken every year but they're few and far between.