which zone and best strategy

m_freeman

I am new to California and have no points do hope to get a draw for good area general rifle tag. What is the best strategy to get a tag from a good (high success) area?

Best strategy move to a different state :) or just get lucky in the draw. Not many general tags with good success in cali. Still have yet to take a deer here. Have had a few chances at small bucks but they just weren't worth putting the tag on (too small). Best bet is to hunt close to home and spend as much time in the field as you can (after opening day, its like a war zone in most areas). Also get as far from the road as possible. Northern cal is a better choice as well.

just my 2 cents.

The B zones in N Ca would be the best bet. Hike in or pack into one of the wilderness areas. The stats dont do these zones justice.

"A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed."

>I am new to California and
>have no points do hope
>to get a draw for
>good area general rifle tag.
>What is the best strategy
>to get a tag from
>a good (high success) area?
>

What part of the state are you in?

I am in San Diego, I don't mind hiking in for an overnight or two to get away from the crowds and denser deer population.
I can also schedule midweek hunting so lucky there.

>The B zones in N Ca
>would be the best bet.
>Hike in or pack into
>one of the wilderness areas.
>The stats dont do these
>zones justice.
>
>"A well regulated militia, being necessary
>to the security of a
>free state, the right of
>the people to keep and
>bear arms shall not be
>infringed."

is that because folks don't want to walk in that far? Which B zones do you think is best?

Im also new to the state, im moving to temecula on sat. I hunt with a bow, but if you want a good scouting partner, i down to go looking.

Just asking here, is x12 an easy archery draw? just reading the last post and wondering if it is?