Wyoming Unit 31 Elk - Anyone hunted that area before?

D

Daybreak

Got lucky and drew a unit 31 tag with max points after several years without success. Wondering if anyone has hunted that unit before?

I've camped one night on this unit a couple summer's ago, but wasn't able to spend a lot of time really scouting it. Looking forward to getting there several times this summer/early fall. As a former Wyoming resident I've spent a lot of time hunting/camping other parts of the state, but not that area.

Looking for whatever advice folks have to offer.

I'm no help on 31 but if you go to the top of the page and click the search button you can look for past posts on 31. I recall reading several over the past few years and those should give you some insight. GOOD LUCK. Chip

realistic goal is a 280-300" bull. Quality has slipped a lot the last few years. Also heard they increased bull tags and cow tags AGAIN this year.

Hunt in the cedars and you'll do fine.

Daybreak,
I was up there last year with a friend that had that same tag. Boy did he score on one hell of a tag. Some say that the quality and the quantity has slipped, well I have to disagree. having spent numerous days in the wilds of Wyoming chasing Elk over many years. I can say with no reservation what so ever that this is a fantastic and wonderful tag.

We were up in 31 last year for 12 days before the opening day of the rifle hunt and 5 of them were during the archery season of the hunt, you can hunt there early if you buy the bow tag for the unit before the hunt. Highly recomended.