2005 - The year that was WOULDA SHOULDA COULDA...

Roy

LAST EDITED ON Dec-28-05 AT 11:49AM (MST)[p]LAST EDITED ON Dec-28-05 AT 11:47?AM (MST)

Everybody posts their sucess stories in the other forums so I thought the campfire would be the perfect place to start a thread about the one that got away. So go ahead, pull up a chair and tell us your "UN"success stories for 2005. I'll start...

Well first off, I live a long way from home (Utah) in Texas where there is plenty of good hunting but most of it is a long way away and there are virtually no public spaces that are good for hunting so you must lease land and it doesn't come cheap. Well, I am a Ph.D. student at UT Austin (HOOK 'EM HORNS!) and expenses are tight so there is no way that I can afford to have a hunting lease so to hunt deer, I do have a friend who is on a lease and every once in a while he invites me to go out there. Well this year, the only time I could get away was last week. Being that I am a student and I live in an apartment and I don't have a gun safe, I don't have any of my guns here. I should have brought them when I first moved here, but for some reason I didn't and my 30.06 and shotgun are at my dad's house in his safe. So I had to borrow a gun from my buddy. We went out the night before and saw plenty of deer (whitetail of course - Central, TX) but it was dark and we didn't get a chance to shoot the guns at all to see if they were sighted in, however he informed me that his was a few months ago. Well I was uncomfortable with that fact but I had to trust him so we put out some corn and checked out the stands and headed home to return in the morning. It was clear as a bell when we left and you could see the whole milky way. The next morning we got a little later start than we wanted but that was OK - a thick fog had set in and we couldn't see further than 30 - 40 yards. I got set up in the stand just before it was light enough to shoot and waited. After about 20 minutes, a doe and two fawns, o