antlerless hunts

BeDawg

Looking for some antlerless hunts for the wife. She has expressed some interest in hunting and I would like to provide her with a fun hunt that is not to hard. She thinks she is tough but if she hunts like I do (wilderness) miles into the backcountry etc..., it will simply kill her and her desire to go.

I am a Utah resident and have a great idea about some public land hunting for antlerless during the bowhunt. My problem is I do not do any scouting during the antlerless any weapon times at all because they are late season. Therefore do not know what to expect. If these hunts were for me and there was public land I could be very successful. Being as this hunt is for her, I would like it to be as laid back as possible. So any ideas? I am open to the possibility of any species too. CWMU's that are reasonable would be great also! You can PM me if you would like.

Its fun to get the wife out there hunting! Cow elk tags on "easy" units or units with lots of elk and lots of public land usually aren't easy to draw and will take a few years of points. Many elk move onto private ground once the shooting starts and they hang out there until the season ends.

To acquire doe deer or antelope tags you will need points. She may get lucky as some do every year but it usually takes a few points to draw doe tags.

Now... if you are looking to go the route of a CWMU and want to pay $$$ for a tag, don't be surprised when the bidding begins at $1,000 or higher for cow elk. Very few CWMU's offer doe deer/antelope tags but maybe Deseret would be a unit to look into if you wanted to buy her a tag.

Hopefully she can draw or buy a tag and have a fun hunt.

There are a few hunts I have been looking at. I just know from my experience how hard it is to just see elk on the units that I usually hunt. These units usually take alot of boot leather and about a day on average before you can find one.