Bonus Point- Me 7, Dad 0- Help Me

Wiszard

Long Time Member
This is going to be the first of a few post on this subject but first things first. I have been buying points in Nevada for deer for 7 years now. My Dad is too cheap so he doesn't. I'm ready to burn my points and my Dad is my hunting partner. We'll be putting in as a party next year. Firstly, if Dad has 0 points right now and I have 7 right now, in the next draw, he'll have 1 and I'll have 8, correct? Together, we'll have 9....divide that by 2 and we'll have 4.5 points. Will the points round down to 4? Does the Nevada system work that way to where a party can use eachothers split and average them? Thanks!

Steve

NV averages them, squares the average, standard rounds the squared average, adds one. That's how random draw many numbers you get. Of course, only the best number of those matters...

Im not sure that Nevada gives you a point for the year you are putting in for like Utah does

Het Steve! You are on the right track. 7 points divided by 2 hunters is 3.5 This number will be rounded up to 4. (I have called many times and they do round up or down depending on your number). So now you have 4 points which would be squared 4x4=16 plus 1 more for the application its self giving you a total of 17 draw numbers. The computer will take your lowest draw number and that number will be used in the actual draw. Hope I didn't make it too confusing. Good luck!

So with a party tag application, does that application act as one or doe all people go in seperatly until one draws then it joins the others as a party?

Good question, ghost. My guess would be the party would get a single number, not numerous shots at a lower number. But, you never know. Thanks.

Steve

Y do they square the number of points?

Squaring the points improves the odds for th highest point holders, but doesn't guarentee anything.