Colorado Moose Draw...How lucky are you?

elkmanchad

So I've been putting in for a moose tag for 6 years now. I have the minimum 3 preference points and 3 weighted points. I will no doubt submit my application again this year, even though I'm not sure what I would do if I actually drew. Obviously, I would be pumped up, but when you're not expecting to draw, you don't really plan for the hunt. So how long has everyone been putting in for their moose tag? What is the least amount of years someone has been putting in for and been lucky enough to draw? How about the longest? What do you think the average length is?

Well there are a bunch of us who have been putting in for over 20 years. I can never remember the year the first moose tags were issued. 1988? Last year there were 1187 residents with 3 and 8. Some had to have drawn but I am sure there are 1100+ that are now 3 and 9 for the 2010 draw.
You should check out how the weighted system really works?. Go to the Rocky Mountain Bighorn Society page. At the bottom of the forums page In general Hunting ? of the way down you will find a post
Draw Process/weighted points. This explains this VERY complicated draw system.
I for one, am hopeful that in the next few years the fact that our random number that is then reversed that is then replaced, by individually drawn numbers?? is then divided by our weighted point number, 9 for 2010, makes it mathematically difficult for the late comers to draw.
Put in because every year folks with 3 and 1? 3and 2, 3 and 3, do draw, when those of us with ?MAX? do not. Hopefully the ?division? part of the equation will start to pay off for us old guys this year.

Sheesh. I may never draw, and Im young and in the same general boat as you. I put in, but wont expect to draw for many, many years. If I do, great, ask the boss for more time off.