Gutless cleaning

Salmon

Was wondering if someone a video of this. It was on this site about 4-5 years ago. A guy had a bull elk he showed how to do this. Very good video. Had a friend bag meat. Thanks in advance for any help, guess I'm not very good at finding it.

I carry a small saw and cut through the spinal cord and a few of the ribs until I can cut the tenderloins out.

I believe the Wyoming dept of game and fish made a video a while back.

Search youtube you'll find it. After the quarters are off you can get to the loin meat, carefully cut right behind the ribs and below spine, not to difficult easier than gutting..

No, they push the gut's to the side and cut the tenderloin out. After trying both ways I just get the gut's out of the way. I guess I am just old school?

you can cut in behind the ribs or simply saw the ribs open to get the tenderloins. There is zero reason to actually field dress an elk unless you'er going to be leaving it for a while and you want to get the temp down. I arrowed a bull this year that we weren't going to be able to get to until the following morning so we did gut it and propped it open so it would keep cool.

No need to cut anything with a saw when using this method. To get the tenderloins, you just make a small opening behind the ribs and carefully cut out the tenderloins with a small knife. I have done 2 elk this way and prefer it, especially if I am by myself. I can do an elk in about 2 hours, not that difficult. I use a 2 1/2" Old Timer folder knife for the entire animal, no need for large knives either, just let the animal separate naturally.