Labradar

Captain_coues

Very Active Member
Anyone have this? It looks like it will be a good replacement for the old style Chronograph. Please talk me into it.

I've been around a few Labradar units and they can be very problematic. Wind has a very negative effect on them and it's always windy where I shoot. Take a look at Magnetospeed if you're in the market for a new chrono.

W
I've been around a few Labradar units and they can be very problematic. Wind has a very negative effect on them and it's always windy where I shoot. Take a look at Magnetospeed if you're in the market for a new chrono.
What does wind have to do with the Labradar measuring bullet speed? Just curious. mtmuley

W
What does wind have to do with the Labradar measuring bullet speed? Just curious. mtmuley
The slightest breeze will make the unit wiggle, providing false and often zero data. I'm no scientist but I've seen it more than a few times now. In zero wind and a rock solid mounting platform they work well.

Well that doesn’t sound like too good of deal for me. I also have plenty of wind. I have the G2 Caldwell Chronograph, but was dreaming of adding this since it looks like a simple set up. I guess the magnetospeed is simple enough.

I don't own one because of the cost, but I have used Zeke's several times and I've thought seriously of getting one. It seems to be about as accurate as they get in measuring speed.
My experience is, they need to be aimed right and they are best with a trigger sensor, but it's the best Chrony I have used.
I don't often shoot if the wind is blowing too hard so I don't know about that. Most serious shooters I know have one, for what that is worth.

I’ve been in rehab over spending on outdoor toys...... numerous times...... hope your recovery comes soon.