Non-resident opinion of Wyo's Pref Pt system (elk/deer/lope)

Teepee

I'm a resident, but am curious what the non-resident's opinion of Wyoming's pref point system (elk/deer/antelope) is.

Like it? Hate it? Drop it? Change it? And why?

Does anyone remember how Wyo got a non-resident pp system, but not a res pp system?

I know that the question has been hashed out before, but Wyo could be taking another look at a resident pp system again for elk, deer & antelope.

Thanks!

>I know that the question has
>been hashed out before, but
>Wyo could be taking another
>look at a resident pp
>system again for elk, deer
>& antelope.

According to who? There are no bills in the legislature that I'm aware of addressing a resident PP. And the G&F has just about given up on the idea given significant opposition from a minority of residents...

"G&F has just about given up on the idea given significant opposition from a minority of residents."

Just curious if you have data to back up your claim?

It does give you an idea how long it will take to draw a tag. However, I'm now of the opinion that with point creep and many top units taking forever to draw and only ones with max PPs being in the running each year that it would probably be better to not have one and just have everyone on an even keel every year and let the chips fall where they may.

we've had a point system in OR for years, I like it. there is nothing to fear, the system WY has is the same as ours.

when there are more applicants than tags somebody is going to sit it out, it might as well be the guy who got to hunt last year.

Stay thirsty my friends

I have to agree with Topgun. Its a system and has its pros and cons depending how you view it. I personally like the bonus point system such as NV the best or the no point system.

Mike