Non Resident, What Should I Apply For?

twsnow18

I'm not sure what kind of reaction I'll get but here goes. I'm a college student and resident of Idaho that is brand new to applying to other states. Cost is a part of the equation. I noticed New Mexico's deadline is coming up fast so I've got a few questions. I'm interested in elk and mule deer only.

As a NR, do I have to purchase a license to apply in NM? If so, what would I roughly be out the door to apply for elk and deer?

I like the random draw system that you guys have, similar to ours in Idaho. I'm looking to put in for good tags (not the best one) with odds that are in the 10% or less range as I can't afford to make a trip for a mediocre tag. If I draw a good one, it's much easier to justify re-arranging my fall. Any advice on units to research for elk and mule deer?

LAST EDITED ON Mar-11-13 AT 12:54PM (MST)[p]If I was you, I would concentrate on elk. The mule deer herd in NM is not worth the money and time you would spend coming down here. Antelope, elk and exotics are well worth the trip though if you can pull a tag.

Yes you have to purchase a license, its $65 but its refundable if you dont get drawn. You have to front the full cost of the tag fee, for the Quality and High demand units, this will be $780, you will get $760 back if you don't draw.

If you bow hunt, stick to the primitive only units, you will have 2-3x better odds for premier units vs. rifle tags.

Deer #'s are distorted for the stae by the hammers that come off the res. I'd love to see the B&C numbers for NM if you back out all the res deer, bet it would drop off the charts.

TWsnow18,