NR with Application Questions...

twsnow18

I'm a college student and resident of Idaho that is brand new to applying to other states. Cost is a part of the equation but I'm interested in building Mule Deer points in Colorado.

From the quick research I've done it looks like it'd run me $10 for the habitat stamp and another $25 per species to apply. Is this correct? If so, that's not bad at all.

Also, what units/hunts should I research? I don't want to have to wait 20 years to hunt there. How many points are you looking at generally to get a decent tag for a 170" buck or better? I know that's a very broad question but just get me in the ball park. 5 points? 10 points? 15? Thanks in advance for any helpful advice!

To get a point you will need to submit the full application amount. So you need to have the full cost of the in your account when you apply. They will take the full amount and hold onto it until they send out refunds in late June. When your refund is returned it will be less the necessary application fee. As far as units, nearly all units in CO hold some great bucks. Some of the easiest to draw units will produce deer in your 170ish range. However, typically them ore points a tag takes to draw the better. Being brand new to the game, you need to realize that many tags are experiencing "points creep". Meaning that over time it is taking longer to draw a tag. For example the resident buck tag I started applying for 8 years ago took only 8 years to draw. Well I am at 8 now and it looks like 10 this year to draw by the time I am at 10 it very well could be 12.

Once I cash in I am going back to units that take 2-3 years to draw. The chance to kill a big buck is present in all units and not hunting deer for several years is not increasing my opportunity.