All you math guys!

koda

Have 9 Utah Deer points, and want to hunt Henry's Archery. I know it will be some time before I draw it. But the question is according to all statistics and all that blah blah. How long before I can draw a Henry's Archery tag if all statistics stay as they are? I am not good at this stuff. Please help a fellow math idiot out.

To be guaranteed a bonus permit and assuming the same number of applicants and bonus permits as in 2010, you may wait up to 13 years to draw. The good news is that once all of the point holders in front of your 9 points group (about 7 years from now)draw their tags, your chances improve greatly, the odds start at 1 in 6 to draw and get better every year after that (years 8-13).

Got to put in to draw, good luck. You may get one of the regular tags before the 13 years.

LAST EDITED ON Feb-01-11 AT 09:32AM (MST)[p]Really, 13 years???? I need to see that math formula, maybe I'm making this too difficult and there really is a chance in he!!.

If you look at the data that is available now and assume things will remain constant over time (but they won't). There are 1160 folks in your group (with 9 points) all the way up to 14 folks to have 15 points. That's 1160 people with 9 or more points.

There are 11 bonus tags give each year so isn't that just 11/1160? I get 105 years. Now granted some guys are going to die before than and some are going to drop out, get lucky and draw one of the other 11 tags available so, lets just cut that in half (since we know things will change over time--the unknown variable) so to be assured (at least in theory) a tag, you might only be really looking at 52 years.

Todd Black
BTO

There's 34 guys ahead of your group with 9 points. That means you won't be in the top pool until 9 years from now and could be another 6 before you're guaranteed a permit.

I think you should quit now and go hunt the Vernon :)

Cheers,
Pete